What Happens at Night

The taxi driver, a woman, wore a man's fur-collared overcoat atop a flannel nightgown. Her head was studded with metal curlers over which she wore a net beaded with bejeweled butterflies. Could we make two stops? the woman asked.

What Happens at Night

A couple find themselves at a fading, grand European hotel full of eccentric and sometimes unsettling patrons in this ""faultlessly elegant and quietly menacing"" allegorical story that examines the significance of shifting desires and the uncertainty of reality (Garth Greenwell, author of Cleanness). An American couple travel to a strange, snowy European city to adopt a baby, who they hope will resurrect their failing marriage. This difficult journey leaves the wife, who is struggling with cancer, desperately weak, and her husband worries that her apparent illness will prevent the orphanage from releasing their child. The couple check into the cavernous and eerily deserted Borgarfjaroasysla Grand Imperial Hotel where the bar is always open and the restaurant serves thirteen–course dinners from centuries past. Their attempt to claim their baby is both helped and hampered by the people they encounter: an ancient, flamboyant chanteuse, a debauched businessman, an enigmatic faith healer, and a stoic bartender who dispenses an addictive, lichen–flavored schnapps. Nothing is as it seems in this mysterious, frozen world, and the longer the couple endure the punishing cold the less they seem to know about their marriage, themselves, and life itself. What Happens at Night is a "masterpiece" (Edmund White) poised on the cusp of reality, told by "an elegantly acute and mysteriously beguiling writer" (Richard Eder, The Boston Globe).

More Books:

What Happened That Night
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Deanna Cameron
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-19 - Publisher: Penguin UK

**Everyone knows WHO murdered Griffin Tomlin. But only one girl knows WHY...** Griffin Tomlin is dead. And Clara Porterfield's sister killed him... Four months after the murder of the town's golden boy, Clara's world has crumbled around her in a million chaotic pieces. Her sister Emily awaits trial for murder.
What Happened That Night
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Sheila O'Flanagan
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-06-01 - Publisher: Hachette UK

THE NO. 1 EBOOK BESTSELLER 'A fabulous tale with refreshingly inspiring heroines' ***** Heat WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT is an enchanting read by Sheila O'Flanagan, bestselling author of THE HIDEAWAY, perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Lisa Jewell. Then When Lola Fitzpatrick catches the eye of Philip Warren, she's
What Happened That Night
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Sandra Block
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-06-05 - Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

She doesn't remember that night. But she will never be the same. One moment, Dahlia is a successful Harvard student; the next, she wakes up from a party, the victim of a brutal assault. Her life veers into a tailspin, and what's worse — her memory of the attack has
Innocent Murder
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Yu Chen
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-06-11 - Publisher: Funstory

The most horrifying murder, the most unbelievable truth! The cannibal dinner, the gag girl, the lover's ice sculpture, the Nanke murderer's surrender, the human skin painting, the ghost's reflection in the mirror ... You will never be able to understand in the human mind the true purpose behind these horrific
BLOOD REIGN
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: G. A. Colin
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-07-01 - Publisher: Lulu.com

The Craigslist killer was dead, but the mystery has just begun. Elisabeth 'Bets' St. James had thought once the killer was stopped, all they had to do was find the ghoul that had developed a taste for O.S.U. students. They soon learned that the killer was only a pawn sacrificed