Citizen Scientist

A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2016: “Intelligent and impassioned, Citizen Scientist is essential reading for anyone interested in the natural world.” Award-winning writer Mary Ellen Hannibal has long reported on scientists’ ...

Citizen Scientist

A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2016: “Intelligent and impassioned, Citizen Scientist is essential reading for anyone interested in the natural world.” Award-winning writer Mary Ellen Hannibal has long reported on scientists’ efforts to protect vanishing species, but it was only through citizen science that she found she could take action herself. As she wades into tide pools, spots hawks, and scours mountains, she discovers the power of the heroic volunteers who are helping scientists measure—and even slow—today’s unprecedented mass extinction. Citizen science may be the future of large-scale field research—and our planet’s last, best hope.

More Books:

Citizen Scientist
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Mary Ellen Hannibal
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-08-22 - Publisher: The Experiment

A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2016: “Intelligent and impassioned, Citizen Scientist is essential reading for anyone interested in the natural world.” Award-winning writer Mary Ellen Hannibal has long reported on scientists’ efforts to protect vanishing species, but it was only through citizen science that she found she could
In Pursuit of Jefferson
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Derek Baxter
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-03-15 - Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

A debut that combines historical nonfiction with travel books, for fans of Bill Bryson and Tony Horwitz, In Pursuit of Jefferson is the story of an American on a journey through Europe, following the epic trail of Thomas Jefferson. A controversial founding father. A man ready for a change. And
Citizen Science Fiction
Language: en
Pages: 232
Authors: Jerome Winter
Categories: Research
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

Citizen Science Fiction argues that science-fiction literature and media can engage and empower individuals to become active and critical participants in citizen science such that they can collaborate meaningfully in the scientific and technological communities, institutions, and industries that deeply shape their everyday lives.
The Roles of Technology and Globalization in Educational Transformation
Language: en
Pages: 259
Authors: Adeoye, Blessing F., Arome, Gladys
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-08-16 - Publisher: IGI Global

The emergence of the internet and developments in educational software have changed the way teachers teach and the way students learn. There has been a substantial increase in the quantity, quality, and diversity of educational material available over the internet or through the use of satellite video and audio linkups.
Abundant Earth
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Eileen Crist
Categories: Biodiversity conservation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-01-11 - Publisher:

In Abundant Earth, Eileen Crist not only documents the rising tide of biodiversity loss, but also lays out the drivers of this wholesale destruction and how we can push past them. Looking beyond the familiar litany of causes--a large and growing human population, rising livestock numbers, expanding economies and international